USGS: Ideas for Teaching Topographic Maps

screen-shot-2016-09-25-at-7-51-16-amUSGS Topographic Map Lessons

USGS Topographic Map Lessons.  I’m so excited about this one. I love being in the Library but I am still a geography – and map – geek. This set of fully online lessons basically amounts to an introductory course on understanding topographic maps.  Granted it’s based on US Topo Maps, but the ideas are transferable.  Drop by the Library where I am home to a great collection of Canadian Topo Maps – we work with them with the Grade 9 Geo classes later in the year.  I even have a few fabulous US maps from my time at grad school in the US.  Reminder that you can access all things Canadian, and related to digital map resources, at the GeoGratis site, into which Toporama has been relocated.  Thanks to my friend Richard Byrne at FreeTech4Teachers for pointing me in this direction.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *